Stamen and Pistil

By: mesanger

Nov 05 2015

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Category: life

1 Comment

As my garden sinks back into the earth, seeds gathered for next season, I recall the miracle of bloom and birth that has kept me connected to cycles and hope.

Tadpoles and Gospel Song

There was a time when it was better to stay in the dark,
even the thinnest of light burned my eyes, even
the magnolia budding forth, even the
Milky Way, distant and pleading.
But tadpoles and gospel song,
expansion and mitosis,
stamen and pistil
and even though
I need carry a shield, even
though my breath came shallow,
even though my skin shriveled at that first
burst of light, I emerged and hefted warmth upon my shoulders

One comment on “Stamen and Pistil”


Leave a Reply

