Falling into place

By: mesanger

Oct 20 2013

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: life

7 Comments

Aperture:f/2.65
Focal Length:4.03mm
ISO:32
Shutter:1/40 sec
Camera:SPH-D710

Blackbirds in the Pomegranate Tree, Stories from Ixcotel State Prison — will be out by early November. I have permission to use on the cover an amazing photo taken inside the prison while I was there — see the BOOK tab for a preview (and take a look at Vida Yovanovich’s website for more stark photos).

Dear friend and grand dame of Mexican letters, Elena Poniatowska, has agreed to write a little introduction to the book.

And I am excited to introduce the women of Ixcotel to my friends. After ten years.

Autumn is a particularly thought-provoking season, as the juice of summer evaporates, forcing us to rub up against the bare bones of our surroundings. The change is beautiful and contemplative.

A good time to release the stories, I think.

 

7 comments on “Falling into place”

  1. I am so looking forward to reading your book. Where will we be able to get a copy?

  2. Hola Mary Ellen, I have read a couple of your posts and have really enjoyed them. I’m glad to hear about your book and about Ms. Poniatowska writing the intro. I also love your photos!

    • Thanks for the note, Sofia!! Good to hear from you! You still in NYC? Still have a lovely kitty? Hugs from the foothills of the Rockies!

      • Yes, still in NYC with my Catchy. I post photos of him in Facebook once in a while. I have seen your Max there. He always looks beautiful. I´m glad to see Colorado is treating you well. Be good!


Leave a Reply

