Not the #1 train

By: mesanger

Sep 03 2013

Tags: , , , ,

Category: life

1 Comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:500
Shutter:1/14 sec
Camera:iPhone 4

Every day, through the middle of Fort Collins, 12 to 15 freight trains “race” though at about 20 mph (their speed recently doubled after track upgrades). Federal law requires that they announce their crossing at major intersections with a 96 decibel horn blast for at least 15 seconds.

The freight train signal reminds me of my childhood in upstate New York. It sounds, to me, rather quaint, a remnant of clickety-clack slow-down take-it-easy in the age of jets and higher speed rail. But the nuisance of the Fort Collins train horns is a hot issue here. The noise level is said to affect downtown commercial interests, and an amendment newly proposed in the US Senate would provide for laws that would maintain motorist and pedestrian safety while reducing the noise level in town.

I live in a place where people are concerned about the noise level.

In the Bronx, I could hear the #1 train from my bedroom as it rattled by every few minutes a block away. When I walked to work, sometimes the overhead trains (and the trucks rattling over the bridge, and the sirens and the MTA buses and the taxi drivers shouting at the bicyclists and my huge internal “SHHHH!”) were so loud I couldn’t hear the music on my iPod.

I think I will hear my internal whispers here. They didn’t disappear in the Bronx, I simply had to listen more carefully in between the Van Cortlandt bound and Manhattan bound #1 trains. A few moments at a time.

An “ahhhh” comes easily here. Next the “Ah HAHs!”

#1 line

Joseph and MES on #1 train, July 2012.

One comment on “Not the #1 train”

  1. That’s what’s missing here


Leave a Reply

